Summer Reading: If You Liked The Wizard of Oz

 What to read next if you loved the Wizard of Oz books

Venture into a fantastic new world where magic illuminates everyday life. These books have all the enchantment of the best books in the Oz series with new characters and adventures to fall in love with.


Beyond the Pawpaw Trees by Palmer Brown

On a blue lavender day, when anything could happen, Anna Lavinia and her cat Strawberry set off to explore the world beyond their walled garden. (If you love this one, the adventure continues in The Silver Nutmeg.)

 

Buy It: Beyond the Pawpaw Tree on Amazon


Bed-Knob and Broomstick by Mary Norton

Two books in one volume, this collection tells the tale of three young London evacuees who strike a deal with the country witch next-door.

 

Buy It: Bed-Knob and Broomstick on Amazon


Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper

A mysterious old house, a hidden map, Arthurian legends, and lurk- ing dark forces await the Dhttps://amzn.to/2LJpb6Zrew children on their holiday in Cornwall.

 

Buy It: Over Sea, Under Stone on Amazon


Charmed Life by Diana Wynne Jones

Cat’s sister seems to have a bright future as a wicked witch, but Cat’s got good reason to be nervous when the siblings are summoned to live with the great enchanter Chrestomanci.

 

Buy It: Charmed Life on Amazon


The Serial Garden: The Complete Armitage Family Stories by Joan Aiken

A chance wish brings “interesting and unusual” experiences to the Armitage family’s ordinary lives once a week in this delightful collection of short stories.

 

Buy It: The Serial Garden on Amazon


Un Lun Dun by China Mieville

Zanna and her friend discover a secret door that leads them into a looking glass version of London, where words are alive and carnivorous giraffes roam the streets.

 

Buy It: Un Lun Dun on Amazon


Five Children and It by E. Nesbit

When five children discover that a creature at the gravel pit can grant wishes, summer gets a lot more interesting.

 

Buy It: Five Children and It on Amazon


Carbonel: The King of Cats by Barbara Sleigh

Rosemary’s in for quite a few surprises when she buys a battered broom and a cat from a market stall.

 

Buy It: Carbonel: The King of Cats on Amazon


The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente

September’s adventures in Fairyland, courtesy of a passing Green Wind, pit her against the country’s not-so-nice Marquess.

 

Buy It: The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making on Amazon


(The gorgeous illustration above is from a Spanish edition illustrated by Julia Sarda.)