Hi.

home/school/life is the secular homeschool magazine for families who learn together.

Summer Reading: If You Liked Swallows and Amazons

Summer Reading: If You Liked Swallows and Amazons

 What to read next if you loved Swallows and Amazons

Of course you should schedule a screening of the recent movie adaptation (pictured above), but even if you've read the whole series through multiple times, you can get a similar taste of old-fashioned summer adventure with these books.


The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy by Jeanne Birdsall

Four sisters spend their summer exploring the grounds of a neighboring estate in this delightfully nostalgic summer story.

Buy It: The Penderwicks on Amazon


Half Magic by Edward Eager

Jane, Mark, Katharine, and Martha find a magic talisman on their way home from the library one summer afternoon, but it only grants wishes in halves.
 

Buy It: Half Magic on Amazon


Like Bug Juice on a Burger by Julie Sternberg

At first Eleanor’s excited to spend the summer at Camp Wallunmwahpuck—but the annoying bugs, disgusting camp food, and especially swimming class soon change her mind.
 

Buy It: Like Bug Juice on a Burger on Amazon


How Tia Lola Saved the Summer by Julia Alvarez

Summer seems like it’s going to be a bummer for Miguel and his sister—until his aunt Lola steps in and sets up a summer camp full of seasonal adventures.

Buy It: How Tia Lola Saved the Summer on Amazon


Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright

Discovering the abandoned remains of an old summer community—and its two last inhabitants—makes for a magical summer for Portia and her cousin Julian.

Buy It: Gone-Away Lake by Elizabeth Enright


Linnets and Valerians by Elizabeth Goudge

The author of The Little White horse also wrote this charming tale of four siblings who run away from their ruthless grandmother to live at their uncle’s country manor.

Buy It: Linnets and Valerians on Amazon


This reading list is excerpted from the summer 2016 issue of HSL.


Related Posts

HSL Book Deal of the Day 6.1.17: The Brontës: Wild Genius on the Moors: The Story of a Literary Family

HSL Book Deal of the Day 6.1.17: The Brontës: Wild Genius on the Moors: The Story of a Literary Family

HSL Book Deal of the Day 5.31.17: Darwin's Ghosts: The Secret History of Evolution

HSL Book Deal of the Day 5.31.17: Darwin's Ghosts: The Secret History of Evolution