home | school | life

Stuff We Like :: 9.2.16

Stuff We LikeSuzanne RezelmanComment
home|school|life's Friday roundup of the best homeschool links, reads, tools, and other fun stuff has lots of ideas and resources.

This week's Stuff We Like is brought to you by Suzanne, who always finds the best stuff!

Around the Web

So, did you hear the one about the racist sexist trolls trying to take over science fiction’s Hugo Awards because the awards are sometimes given to non-white non-male authors writing on topics that the trolls aren’t interested in?  No?  Well, count yourself lucky (it’s not always easy being a sf fan <sigh>), but read this heart-warming article anyway: How a Self-Published Writer of Gay Erotica Beat Sci-Fi’s Sad Puppies at Their Own Game (I’m serious!  It’s heart-warming!  You’ll thank me!)

Just Say No: How to Actually Talk to a Woman Wearing Headphones

Laughed so hard I did a spit-take with my morning mug of ‘Man Tears’: Today’s Vagenda

It’s been kind of tough out there lately, so I like to remind myself that sites like this exist: Greater Good: The Science of a Meaningful Life

 

Reading List

More Neil Gaiman!  I’m sloooowly reading my way through The View From the Cheap Seats: Selected Nonfiction because I want to highlight every page and write “Yes!  I feel the same way!  That’s it exactly!” in the margins.

Favorite dystopian-near-future-of-economic-and-environmental-collapse novel of the month: The Book of Strange New Things by Michael Faber.  Runner up: The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood.  LEAST favorite: The Mandibles: A Family 2029-2047 by Lionel Shriver (NOT recommended, boo)

For when you’re sick and tired of reading about a dystopian near future of economic and environmental collapse: Lisa Lutz’s The Spellman Files

Favorite podcast-turned-into-a-novel: Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

 

At Home

Were you wondering what Thor was doing during the events of Captain America: Civil War?  Us too!  So the whole family had to stop what we were doing and watch this: Team Thor

We would also definitely watch this version of a Full House reboot: Avengers: Full House (with an Olson sister and everything!!)  

Are you a fan of Harry Potter? And podcasts about critical analysis? Would you enjoy a discussion of Hagrid and performative masculinity? OF COURSE you would, you right-thinking person you, so I can recommend this podcast, which I’ve been enjoying immensely: Witch, Please (NOTE: I would highly recommend this podcast to interested tweens and teens, but please be aware that the delightful hosts use four-letter words when appropriate and sometimes discuss adult situations.)

Dragon Con is this weekend!  I won’t be there this year (though I did attend the very first one in 1987), but by the time you read this assorted friends and family will be in downtown Atlanta hobnobbing with superheroes, aliens, and cartoon characters. If you can’t make it to the Saturday morning parade, you can watch it live on Atlanta’s local CW station, as it’s being televised for the first time ever!  YAY, NERDS!

 

at home | school | life

on the blog: I’m pretty intrigued by Rebecca’s review of Layers of Learning—I’m always looking for things my 9-year-old and 14-year-old can do together!

on the website: Now’s the perfect time to recharge your homeschool with our workbook. (It’s free in the subscriber library, but you can also pick up a copy here.)

in the magazine: Group subscriptions are open! Now through September 30, you can subscribe to HSL for a bargain $10 per person if you subscribe in a group of at least 20 people. (This is such a good deal! You should get your homeschool group to sign up!) Email us if you're interested!

one year ago: We rounded up readalikes for The Mysterious Benedict Society.

two years ago: Shelli and Amy met up at the NASH conference. 

 

notable sales

fabric.com has some awesome discounts going, where you can save big if you buy multiple yards. (This Amy Butler floral print seems to have jumped into my shopping basket.)

This Carol Feller shawl kit is on my birthday wishlist. (In espresso and coffee, please!) Her gorgeous Mendel sweater is one of my all-time favorite knits.